The Barristers is an organization of new lawyers committed to professional growth, community service, and serving as an advocate for its members.

The Barristers begins each calendar year with its Annual Judges’ Luncheon, aimed at honoring the judges and introducing the new members of the bar to the Bench and the experienced bar.  It is followed by the “Meet and Greet”, which orients those new to practice in San Mateo County by providing a tour of the Courthouse and a panel discussion with the Judges.  The Barristers holds three to four continuing education programs each year, each focused on preparing new attorneys for the practice of law and hosts a bi-monthly brown-bag series with members of the judiciary.  In addition, the Barristers has traditionally performed philanthropic services for the community and provided a support network for new attorneys.

Beginning in 2004, the Barristers has held its annual “Night at the Races” at Bay Meadows, raising approximately $7,000 to date for the Legal Aid of San Mateo County and the San Mateo County Law Library.  In 2004, Peninsula Habitat for Humanity received almost $6000 as a result of the Barristers fundraising effort and each year since then the Barristers has held its Annual Build Day, with members volunteering to build houses for low income families on the Peninsula.  In addition, the Barristers throws an annual holiday party for the residents of First Step for Families, part of the Shelter Network.

The Barristers holds its General Meetings at noon the first Wednesday of each month. The meetings are brown-bag sessions open to all Barristers.  Check the SMCBA Events Calendar for the next meeting.

Membership in the Barristers is open to SMCBA members 36 years old and younger OR who have been in practice for 10 years or fewer- all new members meeting these criteria are automatically a Barristers member.  We encourage all new attorneys to join us and reap the rewards of being part of this exciting organization.

For more information on the Barristers contact Barristers’ President Angelica Ayar.

President: Angelica Ayar

Vice President: Brooke Murphy

Treasurer: Mallory Barr

Secretary: Anderson Lam

Board: Joanna Wald (immediate past president), Khloe Lee, Crystal Long, David Nazzaro, Natasha Tran and Helen Wang.