The Bar Association offers its members a variety of means to continue their legal educations and participate in the operation of the Association. Section chairs serve for a calendar year are appointed by the President.

Sections meetings are open to all Bar Association members and explore issues and developments in different areas of the law. The Bar Association is a California State Bar approved provider of Mandatory Continuing Legal Education and many of the Section programs qualify for MCLE credit.

Section dues, $30 per section, include any MCLE costs associated with meetings offered by each section.

To see all upcoming MCLE events provided by the Sections, go to the top of this page and click on the Calendar, or click here.

Are you new to the San Mateo County Community? Is this your first year practicing and would like to get involved?  If you answered “yes” to any of these questions, click here fore more information on how to become part of the Barristers Section.

ADR Section

Chair: Sadhana “Sandy” Narayan
Narayan Travelstead, PC
24301 Southland Dr., Ste. 607
Hayward, CA 94545
(650) 403-0150


Barristers Section

President: Maggie W. Trinh
Curley, Hurtgen & Johnsrud LLP
4400 Bohannon Dr., Ste. 230
Menlo Park, CA 94025
(650) 600-5309

Business/Business Litigation Section

Chair: Marc D. Bender
Law Office of Marc D. Bender
177 Bovet Rd., Ste. 600
San Mateo, CA 94402
(650) 638-2347

Corporate In-House Counsel Section

Chair: Carolyn R. Adler
Hewlett Packard Enterprise
1140 Enterprise Way MS 3104
Sunnyvale, CA 94089
(650) 857-6257

Vice-Chair: Sadhana “Sandy” Narayan
Narayan Travelstead, PC
24301 Southland Dr., Ste. 607
Hayward, CA 94545
(650) 403-0150

Criminal Law Section

Chair: Ariel Rief
Rief Legal
1900 S. Norfolk St., Ste. 350
San Mateo, CA 94403
(650) 577-5959

Estate Planning & Probate Section

Chair: Jessica L. Rowe
Aaron, Riechert, Carpol & Riffle
900 Veterans Blvd., Ste. 600
Redwood City, CA 94063
(650) 368-4662

Family Law Section

Chair: Joshua M. Cutcher
Berra Stross & Wallacker
155 Bovet Rd., Ste. 202
San Mateo, CA 94402
(650) 349-9920

Co-Chair: Robert Cashen 
Morgan Tidalgo Sukhodrev & Azzolino LLP
160 W. Santa Clara St., Ste. 1500
San Jose, CA 95113
(650) 381-0467


Government/Municipal Law Section

Chair: Jean Savaree
Aaronson, Dickerson, Cohn & Lanzone
1001 Laurel St., Ste. A
San Carlos, CA 94070
(650) 453-3911

Intellectual Property Section

Chair: Denise De Mory
Bunsow, De Mory, Smith & Allison, LLP
701 El Camino Real
Redwood City, CA 94063
(650) 351-7241


Labor & Employment Section

Chair: April S. Glatt
Chauvel & Glatt, LLP
66 Bovet Road, Suite 280
San Mateo, CA 94402
(650) 573-9500

Real Estate Section

Chair: Grant Baker
Michael B. Allen Law Group, Inc.
520 S. El Camino Real, Ste. 840
San Mateo, CA 94402
(650) 347-500

Women Lawyers’ Section

Chair: Katherine A. West
177 Bovet Rd., Ste. 600
San Mae, CA 94402