Mission Statement:

The San Mateo County Bar Association’s Diversity Committee has as its purpose to encourage and promote equality and diversity on our Bench and in our Bar for all   underrepresented   minorities.   Our goals include working with local public schools, colleges, and law schools to encourage a diverse base of students to become attorneys who will ultimately practice in San Mateo County.

In the fall of 2008, Kristina Chung and Enrique Marinez, of Ropers, Majeski, Kohn & Bentley, approached and worked closely with 2009 SMCBA President Nancy de Ita to develop a committee designed to advance the Bar’s goals of achieving equal employment opportunities for minority attorneys practicing in San Mateo County and in the legal profession overall. The SMCBA Board of Directors adopted their formal proposal in 2009 and formed the Diversity Task Force to, among other things, foster and increase the diversity of its members and enhance the richness of the communities represented by the SMCBA. Since its inception, the Diversity Task Force’s efforts have helped significantly increase membership and participation in the SMCBA particularly of minority attorneys, and the Task Force has been notable for attracting marquee speakers to address the legal community. In 2010, the Board of Directors elevated the Task Force to committee status, and the organization is now known as the SMCBA Diversity Committee.  In 2013, SMCBA Diversity Committee was the proud recipient of the State Bar Diversity Award.

Please feel free to contact Deborah Kemper, Executive Director, if you would like someone to speak at your school regarding diversity. 

Les Williams Diversity Award-The Diversity Award Recognizes an individual or organization who has demonstrated a meaningful and consistent commitment to increasing and maintaining diversity in San Mateo County at all levels of the legal profession.  Nominees will exemplify the Diversity Committee’s goal of promoting equality in the San Mateo County Bench and Bar for all underrepresented minorities and other groups.  The Award will be presented at the Annual Speaker’s Series.


To submit a nomination please complete this form and mail to:

SMCBA-Diversity Chairman, 333 Bradford St., Ste. 200, Redwood City, CA  94063 or email to smcountybar@smcba.org.

Speaker Series Chairperson

Senior Associate Director, Anti Defimation League Nancy Appel

Intelligence Project director, Southern Poverty Law Center Heidi Beirich

Monica Castillo, Sarrail, Castillo & Hall LLP

Civil Rights Attorney & Executive Director of San Francisco Council on American Islamic Relations, Zahra Billoo

Senior Attorney& Immigration Program Supervisor Community Legal Services in East Palo Alto, Mariam Kelly

Monica Castillo, Sarrail, Castillo & Hall LLP

California Supreme Court Associate Justice Leondra Kruger

Interim Dean and Professor of Law, Berkeley Law School, Melissa Murray

Kristina Lee, Attorney at Law

Civil Rights Attorney John L. Burris

San Mateo County Under-Sheriff Carlos G. Bolanos

Chinhayi Coleman Cadet, Assistant U.S. Attorney

Peter F. Goldscheider, Attorney at Law


State Bar of California President Luis J. Rodriguez

Dean of University of California, Irvine School of Law, Erwin Chemerinsky

Protima Pandey, Bay Area Legal Aid

Dean of University of California, Davis Law School, Kevin R. Johnson

Former University of California Regent, Ward Connerly

Dean Emeritus & Professor of Law of Golden Gate University School of Law, Peter G. Keane


Kevin Allen, Attorney at Law

Deborah Kemper, MBA


California Supreme Court Associate Justice Goodwin Liu

Civil Rights Attorney Eva Paterson

Ray Buenaventura, Attorney at Law

California Supreme Court Chief Justice Tani Cantil-Sakauye

Jim Biernat, The Biernat Law Group



California Supreme Court Justice Kathryn M. Werdegar

Attorney and Civil Rights Pioneer Dale Minami

Sadhana Narayan, Narayan Law Firm

California Supreme Court Justice Carlos R. Moreno

California State Bar President Holly Fujie

Kristina Chung, Ropers, Majeski, Kohn & Bentley